Transplant Coordinators Conference 2016

9th Annual Transplant Coordinators' Conference 2016

9th Annual Transplant Coordinators' Conference

Under the aegis of Indian Society of Organ Transplantation (ISOTCON 2016)

Date: 8th & 9th October 2016

Venue: Hotel Hyatt, Chandigarh


Day I - 8th October 2016


8.30 am - 8.55 am

Combined heart liver transplantation for familial amyloidotic polyneuropathy: Logistics and Planning pearls
Dr. Amit Sharma
Chairpersons: Dr. Rajan Saxena, Dr. Ajay Behl

8.55 am - 9.25 am

Presidential Address:
Developing HLA Laboratory setup for Transplantation
Dr. R K Sharma
Chairpersons: Dr. K S Chugh, Dr. Umesh Oza

9.25 am - 9.50 am

Clinical trials of adherence in kidney allograft- summary of my decade of experience
Dr. Rahul M Jindal
Chairpersons: Dr. K L Gupta, Dr. P Salgia

9.50 am - 10.15 am

Pushing the Limits: Rejection Revisited - Is pathology still Gold standard?
Dr. Volker Nickeleit
Chairpersons: Dr. Aruna Vanikar, Dr. R G Singh

10.15 am - 10.35 am

Liver Cell Therapy - Evolving Concepts for Organ Regeneration
Dr. Sanjeev Gupta
Chairpersons: Dr. Y K Chawla, Dr. Rajsekhar Perumalla

10.35 am - 11.00 am

Transplantation training
Dr. Nancy Ascher
Chairpersons: Dr. G Gopalkishnan, Dr. Siva Kumar

11.00 am - 11.15 am

Tea Break

11.15 am - 11.30 am

Dr. R K Sharma, Dr. Vimal Bhandari, Dr. K. L. Gupta, Dr. H. S Kohli, Dr. Dale Gardiner, Dr. Anil Chandraker, Dr. Narayan Prasad, Dr. Vipin Koushal & Dr. Sunil Shroff

11.30 am - 12.15 pm

Swamy Narayan Memorial Lecture on "Achieving moral balance in organ donation - Clinical decisions"
Dr. Dale Gardiner
Chairperson: Dr. Vimal Bhandari & Introduction - Dr. Sumana Navin

12.15 pm - 1.15 pm

Symposium on raising funds for transplant recipients
Mr. Anoj Viswanathan
Dr. Sonal Asthana
Mr. J Nethaji

Chairpersons: Dr. A.K. Gupta, Mr. Sudhir Dewan

1.15 pm - 2.15 pm

Lunch Break

2.15 pm - 2.45 pm

Living related transplants

1. Challenges in conversion - Mr. Sivakumar

2. How could a Transplant Coordinator ensure live related cases - Ms. Trilly Mathew

Chairpersons: Mr. J. Nethaji, Ms. Jayalaxmi

2.45 pm - 3.15 pm

Transplant videos(Liver, Kidney & Pancreas)
Liver: Dr. Ravi Mohanka
Kidney - Pancreas: Dr. Sarbpreet Singh

Chairpersons: Dr. Sunil Shroff, Dr. Ravi Mohan

3.15 pm - 3.30 pm

Videos for promoting the cause of organ donation for transplant (Prize for best video presentation)

Judges: Ms. Arati Gokhale & Dr. Hemal Kanvinde

Poster Viewing Session (Awareness & Scientific Posters)

Judges: Ms. Pallavi Kumar, Mr. K. Raghuram

3.30 pm - 4.00 pm

Transplant Coordinators dealing with stress and burn out
Ms. Pallavi Kumar, Dr. Bhanu Chandra
Chairpersons: Dr. Sunil Shroff, Dr. Vrinda Sharma

4.00 pm - 4.15 pm

Tea Break

4.15 pm - 4.30 pm

Role of transplant coordinators in sharing organs between hospitals; what preparedness needed?
Mr. Shankar Ganesh
Chairperson: Mr. K. Raghuram

4.30 pm - 5.00 pm

Unusual Case Studies
Mr. Mukesh Kumar, Ms. A.T. Sunitha Velankanni
Chairpersons: Dr. Vipin Koushal, Mrs. Arati Gokhale


5.00 pm - 6.15 pm

Donation after Cardiac Death and Brain death
1.Donation after circulatory death: opportunities and challenges - Dr. Kourosh Saeb-Parsy
2.DCD current status- UK perspectives - Dr. Sanjay Mehra
3.Determination of Death - Dr. Dale Gardiner
4.DCD-can we implement in India - Dr. Ashish Sharma

Chairpersons: Dr. Ajit Huilgol, Dr. J. Amalorpavanathan & Dr. Pankaj Shah

Day II - 9th October 2016

9.00 am - 9.30 am

Green corridors
Mr. L. Sathish, Dr. S. S. Gill
Chairperson: Mr. Sudhir Dewan, Dr. Pankaj Arora

9.30 am - 10.45 am

Symposium on post-transplant challenges

Post transplant issues in women in kidney and liver transplants

- Pregnancy and transplantation, Menstrual Cycle after transplant -
Dr. Gomathy Narasimhan

- Weight gain in transplantation, Hirsuitism - Dr. Anil Chandraker

Post transplant issues in children - Dr. Shruti Tapiawala

Key Issues in Women post heart transplant - Dr. K R Balakrishnan

Chairpersons: Dr. Vinita Jain, Dr. Kara

10.45 am - 11.15 am

Transplant Coordinators in Public vs Corporate Hospitals
. Style of Working
. Pay Package
. Job Satisfaction

Ms. Ramandeep Kaur, Ms. Saravjeet Kaur

Chairpersons: Mrs. Bhavna Jagwani, Mr. Sagayam Francis

11.15 am - 11.30 am

Tea Break

11.30 am - 11.45 am

Citizens Vs Foreigners - Organ Allocation Policies
Dr. Hemal Kanvinde
Chairperson - Dr. Sunil Shroff

11.45 am - 12.00 pm

Swamy Narayan Best Transplant Coordinator Award 2016 - Presentation by shortlisted nominees
Chairperson: Mr. K. Raghuram

12.00 pm - 1.15 pm

Scientific paper presentation

Judges: Dr. Sumana Navin, Dr. Ravi Wankhede

1.15 pm - 2.00 pm

Lunch Break

2.00 pm - 2.45 pm

Counselling Families -
Converting a No to Yes for organ donation
Ms. Hemalata Shah, Mr. Sagayam Francis, Ms. Sukhvinder Lal

Chairpersons: Mr. K. Raghuram, Dr. Muneet Kaur Sahi

2.45 pm - 3.15 pm

Valedictory function and presentation of awards

14th Annual Conference of NATCO

31st Annual Conference of the Indian Society of Organ Transplantation, ISOT 2021 Kochi, October 9-10 (Saturday and Sunday)